Saturday, March 21, 2009

Photographs for Dollars

The HCB Award

Presented by the Henri Cartier-Bresson Foundation, the HCB Award is a prize to stimulate a photographer's creativity by offering the opportunity to carry out a project that would otherwise be difficult to achieve.

It is intended for photographers who have already completed a significant body of work, with an approach close to that of reportage. The prize is of 30,000 Euros and is awarded every other year.

The winner will also have an exhibition of his work at the Foundation HCB in Paris and a catalogue will be published.

Applications must be postmarked between March 1, 2009 and April 15, 2009.

For submission guidelines, visit:

The Inge Morath Award

The Magnum Foundation and the Inge Morath Foundation announce the sixth annual Inge Morath Award. The annual prize of $5,000 is awarded by the Magnum Foundation to a female documentary photographer under the age of 30, to support the completion of a long-term project. One award winner and up to two finalists are selected by a jury composed of Magnum photographers.

Deadline: April 30, 2009.

For submission guidelines, visit:

Grand Prix International de Photographie

The Grand prix international de photographie de Vevey is an international competition organised by the Foundation Vevey, ville d’images and launched as part of Images, a visual art festival.

The winning project will be awarded CHF 30’000 (approx. € 20’000) to allow its realization and be exhibited at next year’s festival.

The jury made up of different personalities from the visual art and photography world. The jury will appoint the Grand Prix prize winner, as well as the other prizes and distinctions. The competitors will automatically take part to the associated prizes and distinctions.

Deadline: April 30, 2009.

For submission guidelines, visit:

W. Eugene Smith Grant and Howard Chapnick Grant

The W. Eugene Smith Grant in Humanistic Photography is today the most prestigious honor in documentary photography. Every year it recognizes a photographer who has demonstrated an exemplary commitment to documenting the human condition in the spirit of Smith's concerned photography and dedicated compassion. For 2009, the amount of the grant will be $30,000. An additional $5,000 in fellowship money will be dispersed, at the discretion of the jury, to one or more finalists deemed worthy of special recognition.

In 1996 the W. Eugene Smith Memorial Fund announced a new award, the Howard Chapnick Grant, to encourage and support leadership in fields ancillary to photojournalism, such as editing research, education and management. The Grant was established to honor the memory of Howard Chapnick, and acknowledge the value of his enormous contribution to photography.
The annual $5,000 grant may be used to finance any of a range of qualified undertakings, which might include a program of further education, research, a special long-term sabbatical project, or an internship to work with a noteworthy group or individual. The grant is not intended to be used for the production of photographs, which will continue to be funded by the main grant of the Smith Fund.

Deadline: May 15, 2009.

For application guidelines, visit:

The Magnum Expression Award

The Magnum Expression Photography Award was established by Magnum Photos and HP with the goal of raising awareness and inspiring change through campaigns using photography as an expressive medium. The judges are searching for revealing imagery that illustrates a dedicated compassion and intensity using photography as a medium.

One chosen winner will receive a $10,000 award for continuing his/her work. HP's large format Designjet Z3200 for fine art printing, and additional prizes from and Photoshelter. Two honorable mentions and the remaining 17 finalists will also receive awards to support and encourage their photographic work. Participation is at no cost and photographers worldwide are encouraged to participate.

Deadline: May 31, 2009.

For submission guidelines, visit:


Whether you've already made your book or want to start, Photography.Book.Now is for working photographers, students of the discipline, and curious enthusiasts. The competition has three categories in which you can enter—Fine Art, Editorial and Commercial. Enter in one or all and submit as many books as you would like. The entry fee applies to each book submitted. Prizes will be awarded based on a juried review of all submissions to the Photography.Book.Now competition. The top prize winners will be invited to attend the awards celebration and meet-up in New York this Fall.

Deadline: July 16, 2009.

For application guidelines, visit:

Copyrighted Pictures

Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape